Give Video Animators Their Flowers

Give Video Animators Their Flowers

Our task for week 1 was to create an animated video that introduces all tracks in the Side Hustle Internship with a short description of each.

Here are some of our individual processes:

Adedoyin Timi (Graphics Design)

My job was to create a descriptive animation video of the Graphics design track.

Firstly, it looked impossible to communicate such an idea in 10secs for real but we decided as a team to make it 10secs for each track.

I had issues with understanding the task because the task wanted me to describe a track, not advertise.

There's a difference between advertising and describing.

Day 1 passed Oooo. I kept pondering and pondering till I fell into the pond.

Day 2 came:

I entered my Team lead’s Dms and she helped out in understanding the task a little.

I had gone on YouTube as usual to check if anybody had done any animation on graphics design. I found nothing, just a bunch of visual graphics.

I even went on Google but found nothing.

Day 2 passed, and I hadn't developed the script.

On day 3, I decided to use my head ooo. I went the traditional way with pencil and paper and scribbled a few sentences that looked descriptive.

By Day 4, it was close to submission. My adrenaline kicked in. I took my sentence and used Chat GPT to modify it for a 10sec video.

After endless trials, I got a few samples that looked interesting and I fed them into the Text to Speech software.

My problem just started. After conversion, it was 17 secs. I began to paraphrase, adjust and swap verbs. I knew if I wanted to pass across my idea, I couldn't go below 15secs.

After getting my audio ready, I switched to the Animiz software.

Now because of time constraints, I had two choices, either start my animation from scratch or use an already created template and just do a lot of tweaking so that it can soothe my idea.

I chose to use a created template, and I eventually found something interesting.

After downloading the template, lucky me, the animation was 17 secs. I loaded my audio and began adjustment.

It was a rewarding experience, I began to delete and add various components till everything synced.

In fact, the process was blowing my mind because I discovered some new skills on the software.

The rest is history.

And that was how I solved my task in under 6 hours.

Miriam Onyemenam (Product Design)

I usually start a creative process by doing some research to put myself in the right state of mind.

So that’s what I did.

I went to Google to gather knowledge on Product Design. I needed to know how best to convey its benefits to an audience.

When I had my points down, I put them together and wrote a script for my video.

I sent the script to one of my team members and he helped me generate a voiceover from it.

This was a day before I started the actual animation.

On the day I was ready to start, I listened to the voiceover, it sounded great but then I realized it was 20 seconds long and we had already agreed as a team that our video was to be 10 seconds each.

I panicked.

I knew I had to figure out a way to reduce it and still pass the message across.

So I listened and re-listened over and over again and I finally chose 10 seconds that still made sense.

When this was settled, I wrote down scene ideas that corresponded with my script and I got to animating.

I used VideoScribe for the scenes because I wanted it to be a Whiteboard Animation, and I used Animiz for the text intro because I wanted software inclusivity.

Somewhere along the 4th second, my system died and I had to find somewhere to charge it as fast as I could to meet up with the deadline.

I eventually did and finished animating.

It was giving!

I then exported my animation from VideoScribe and used Animiz to sync it with the voiceover.

It was a long journey but it was worth it.

Please always give animators their flowers!

Ayibaemi Ibaba (Backend Web Development)

I started by writing the script first and then looked for relevant images to fit in.

I structured the script into an intro, overview, and conclusion.

I've dabbled into Backend web dev previously so that experience came in handy in writing the script.

Used Google Search to find relevant images.

Also tried to generate with AI, but didn't get particularly good outputs.

Noted to work towards acquiring a writing tablet for sketching purposes.

Ended up with three images from Google search, one for each part of the script.

The overview portion of the video was the longest.

Used VideoScribe for a whiteboard animation.

Struggled a bit with the transitions.

The transition from intro to overview especially could have been much better.

VoiceBookings (http://projectpages.voicebooking.com) was utilized for the audio generation of the script.

Script-Timer was used to estimate the script time before audio generation.

Voicebookings output was in .wav format. Converted it to .mp3 format using vlc before importing in VideoScribe

Played around with adjusting pause time and transition time till I felt the final output(audio + video) was sufficiently well put together.

Finally, compressed VideoScribe output via Handbrake using a fast preset.

The final video was about a third of the size of the original VideoScribe output.

Aluko Mayowa (Data Analysis)

It was hard to think about how I will create an animation for the Data Analysis track because I had a test the next day.

I started by understanding Data Analysis.

And I went to Chat GPT to understand some attributes of Data Analysis.

After that, I looked for the best background for it and I added an effect to the background then I started creating.

I had a motive of making something unique.

So I selected chats and added them to the canvas.

After a while, I decided to use a mixture of Animiz and Whiteboard animation.

I selected the Videoscribe and I started adding chat with a character of an office man and I complimented my chat with a ring shape.

After I played it, I discovered that many viewers might not understand the chat. Then I added the chat name and I played again.

After that, I added the two together and previewed them in the Animiz software.

It was cool and I used the Text to Voice meta app to get the voice-over with timing.

This is how I did my 2d animation on Data analysis.

Princess (Product Management)

I successfully carried out a Product Management 2D animation project using Animiz.

With Animiz, I created a storyboard outlining the Product's key elements and advantages.

Then, I utilized the software to develop animated characters, objects, and backgrounds that brought the story to life.

Animiz's user-friendly interface and comprehensive library of pre-designed templates and drawings made the process smooth and efficient.

I could easily add voiceovers and background music to the animation and export the final product.

It proved to be a valuable tool for creating engaging and informative 2D animations for product management.

Challenges:

● Creating a cohesive and interesting story that effectively expressed the key elements of the task.

● Finding the right balance between simplicity and detail in the animation needed careful consideration.

● Ensuring the animation was aligned with the branding and messaging of the tasks was important but also required some trial and error.